Wood congratulates Doncaster, Wigan and Featherstone

Date published: Tuesday, September 4, 2012

RFL Chief Executive Nigel Wood has congratulated Doncaster on their success in winning the 2012 Co-operative Championship One title.

Doncaster were confirmed as champions following their 48-8 victory over London Skolars this afternoon, an achievement which secures their place in the Championship for 2013.

“On behalf of everyone at the RFL I would like to congratulate Doncaster on their fine achievement, which is reward for a lot of hard work by everyone at the club,” said Wood.

“Doncaster should be justifiably proud of winning a first league title in their 61-year history and I am sure they will celebrate their success long and hard before turning their attentions to preparing for life as a Championship club.”

Wood also congratulated Wigan Warriors and Featherstone Rovers after both clubs secured League Leaders’ Shields in the Stobart Super League and Co-operative Championship, respectively.

Wigan guaranteed top spot going into the play-offs with a round to spare with a 42-36 defeat of Hull Kingston Rovers in Round 26 of Super League whilst Featherstone ended the regular season in pole position for a third successive year by beating Keighley Cougars 46-4.

“Wigan’s consistency in 2012 is a great credit to coach Shaun Wane, his staff and all the Wigan Warriors players and it is clear they are going to be a force to be reckoned with between now and the Stobart Super League Grand Final at Old Trafford on Saturday October 6,” added Wood.

“Featherstone have been models of consistency in the last few seasons and after their defeat by Halifax in the Northern Rail Cup final earlier this year, I am sure that the Daryl Powell and his players will not relinquish their Championship title lightly.”