Top teams dominate Championships All-Stars selection

Date published: Saturday, September 24, 2011

ROUGHYEDS forward Dave Ellison was missed by Tony Benson’s boys over the last two months of the season because of a severe elbow dislocation, but he had still done enough to warrant a place in the Co-operative Championship One all-stars team (see below). Well done Dave!
Co-operative Championship League Leaders Featherstone Rovers and Championship One Champions Swinton Lions have dominated the 2011 Championship All Star teams, with both sides contributing four players to their respective line-ups.
Featherstone quartet Bryn Powell, Tommy Saxton, Andy Kain and Stuart Dickens have been joined in the Championship line-up by a trio of players from second-placed Leigh Centurions – Mick Nanyn, Jamie Ellis and Chris Hill.
Batley Bulldogs forwards Ash Lindsay and Dane Manning complete the back row positions alongside MacGraff Leuluai, who is the only Widnes Vikings player named in the 13. Halifax captain Sean Penkywicz completes the forward line-up at hooker.
Sheffield Eagles player Misi Tualapapa has earned his selection at full-back while Barrow’s Liam Harrison is selected at centre and forms part of a devastating back-line which has scored almost 100 tries during the regular season.
In Championship One, no fewer than nine teams are represented in the All Star selection. Table toppers and promotion winners Swinton Lions are represented by Ian Mort, Ian Watson, Warren Thompson and Phil Joseph.
Cumbrian rivals Workington and Whitehaven are both represented in the squad, with ’Haven’s Scott McAvoy and Lee Doran joined by Darren Holt from Workington while Welsh side South Wales Scorpions have Steve Parry selected at hooker.
London Skolars winger Ade Adebisi, Doncaster’s Chris Spurr and Keighley Cougars’ Gavin Duffy fill in the remaining positions in the backs while Oldham’s Dave Ellison and Rochdale Hornets’ Craig Ashall are the remaining forwards.
2011 Co-operative Championship All Star team:
1 Misi Taulapapa (Sheffield)
2 Bryn Powell (Featherstone)
3 Liam Harrison (Barrow)
4 Mick Nanyn (Leigh)
5 Tommy Saxton (Featherstone)
6 Andy Kain (Featherstone)
7 Jamie Ellis (Leigh)
8 Chris Hill (Leigh)
9 Sean Penkywicz (Halifax)
10 Stuart Dickens (Featherstone)
11 MacGraff Leuluai (Widnes)
12 Dane Manning (Batley)
13 Ash Lindsay (Batley)
2011 Co-operative Championship One All-Star team:
1 Ian Mort (Swinton)
2 Ade Adebisi (Skolars)
3 Scott McAvoy (Whitehaven)
4 Chris Spurr (Doncaster)
5 Gavin Duffy (Keighley)
6 Darren Holt (Workington)
7 Ian Watson (Swinton)
8 Warren Thompson (Swinton)
9 Steve Parry (SW Scorpions)
10 Dave Ellison (Oldham)
11 Lee Doran (Whitehaven)
12 Craig Ashall (Hornets)
13 Phil Joseph (Swinton)