Three inducted into Roll of Honour

Date published: Monday, January 27, 2014

Three people who have made extraordinary contributions to the game of Rugby League had their achievements recognised by the sport’s governing body today (Sunday) when they were inducted on to the RFL Roll of Honour.

Natalie Gilmour, Ron Girvin and Keith Burhouse were added to the list which was introduced in 2003 and recognises individuals whose efforts encompass exceptional service across both playing and off-field service, and those unsung heroes whose work behind the scenes is so essential to the fabric of the game.

 The three new inductees, who join a list that now totals 30 members, were officially accepted onto the Roll of Honour at the Rugby League Lions’ annual luncheon, an event which is staged annually in aid of the RFL Benevolent Fund.

Natalie Gilmour’s inclusion comes as a result of her role in developing Women’s Rugby League. To date, she has enjoyed a 15-year international career, appeared in every tour and international tournament since 2000, captained her country since 2007 and led her country in two World Cups – including last year’s Festival of World Cups – all the while juggling massive career demands in the Police Firearms Department and contributing massively to the community game.

Ron Girvin’s sheer longevity and commitment to Rugby League has earned him a deserved place on the RFL Roll of Honour. He has been heavily involved in the sport since writing about the amateur game in 1955 to working in administration for the North West Counties (NWC) competition for over three decades. Ron has received a multitude of awards for his service to the game, was last year made President of North West Rugby League and is still the North West Counties League Secretary.

Keith Burhouse has played an active role as a volunteer for 30 years. A Huddersfield fan for more than six decades, Keith has dedicated himself to helping his beloved club, carrying out a vast array of voluntary tasks from replacing roofs and rewiring the old Fartown ground to driving the team bus and raising money for associated charities. During 2013 Keith catalogued all of the collection at the Heritage Centre and arranged for it to be stored securely until a new home is found.

 Welcoming all three on to the Roll of Honour, RFL Chief Operating Officer Ralph Rimmer paid tribute to their selfless efforts.

 “On behalf of everyone involved in Rugby League, I would like to congratulate Natalie, Ron and Keith on their deserved induction on to the Roll of Honour,” said Rimmer.

 “The important contributions these three people have made in their respective roles have had a profound effect on the game.”

 “By being inducted on to the RFL Roll of Honour, we ensure that their outstanding achievements will be forever remembered as a huge benefit to our great game.”

The RFL Roll of Honour in full is:

2003 Frank Myler

2004  Tommy Sale, Johnny Whiteley MBE

2005 Harold Swift MBE, Bev Risman, Maurice Oldroyd

2007  Tony Gartland,  Douglas Hird, Stan Wall

2008 Hilda Hardy, Ray French, Mike Stephenson

2009 Peter Fox, Fred Lindop MBE, Ron Earnshaw, Vic Wakeling  

2010 Neville Smith

2011 Martin Coyd, June Kennedy, Raymond Fletcher

2012   Andrew Cudbertson, Ron England, Mike Nicholas, Jackie Reid MBE, Ray Unsworth

2013   Tim Adams, HH Judge James Spencer

2014 Natalie Gilmour, Ron Girvin, Keith Burhouse