Oldham pair nominated for gongs

Date published: Thursday, September 12, 2013

ROUGHYEDS players Richard Lepori and Adam Files are among five nominees for the title of Championship One Young Player of the Year.

“That’s great news,” said coach Scott Naylor. “It’s no more than the boys deserve — and it’s a boost for the club and for our accent on youth.

The nominations were confirmed today and the winners will be announced at the 2013 Kingstone Press Championship Awards night in Leeds on Thursday, September 26 — three days before the play-off finals at Leigh Sports Village.

North Wales Crusaders coach Clive Griffith could win his second consecutive Coach of the Year award after being shortlisted alongside London Skolars coach Joe Mbu and Troy Perkins of Hemel Stags.

The Player of the Year award in Championship One sees Crusaders duo Andy Moulsdale and Jono Smith shortlisted alongside Dylan Skee of London Skolars.

A five-player shortlist makes up the runners for the Championship One Young Player of the Year award, with Oldham’s Adam Files and Richard Lepori joined by Tyla Hepi of Gloucestershire All Golds, Luke Hardcastle of Gateshead Thunder and North Wales’s Tommy Johnson.

Championship One Player of the Year: Andy Moulsdale (NW Crusaders) Jono Smith (NW Crusaders) Dylan Skee (London).

Championship One Young Player of the Year: Adam Files (OLDHAM, Tyla Hepi (All Golds) Luke Hardcastle (Gateshead) Tommy Johnson (NW Crusaders) Richard Lepori (OLDHAM).

Championship One Coach of the Year: Clive Griffiths (NW Crusaders) Joe Mbu (London) Troy Perkins (Hemel Stags).