Oldham 30 London Skolars 22

Date published: Monday, June 3, 2013
ROUGHYEDS climbed to third place in Kingstone Press Championship One with a 30-22 win against London Skolars at Whitebank —- a third win in a row and the fourth in five outings for Scott Naylor’s young squad.
It was as tough as the score would suggest and despite going 12-0 up inside 20 minutes, we found ourselves trailing 22-18 after ten minutes play in the second half.

It needed a spirited fightback up the slope to turn things round and in the end we got home with late tries by Mo Agoro and Adam Files, both converted by Lewis Palfrey, who had a great game at half-back and led the side well as captain.

Our earlier tries — five in total — were scored by Richard Lepori, Phil Joy and Jon Ford, with Palfrey adding the extras in each case to finish with a 100 per cent goalkicking record for the second game in a row.

He has now kicked 14 goals without a miss —- nine from nine against Gateshead and five from five against London Skolars.

We led 18-10 at half-time, but Skolars scored two tries in two minutes early in the second half to go in front for the first time.

We regained the lead within ten minutes thanks to a cracking try, engineered by Palfrey and David Cookson and scored by Agoro.

Cookson collected his captain’s measured kick under pressure and was in the act of being pushed over the dead ball line by three defenders before he somehow released it backwards for Mo to touch down and then jump for joy.

Palfrey’s excellent touchline kick nosed us ahead again at 24-22 and although we had a few frights afterwards we clinched a very satisfying win when Files squeezed over from dummy half, after Joy and Palfrey had both gone close, to register his eighth try in the last seven games.

Prop Phil Joy took the official man of the match award and David Cookson won the champagne moment prize, but they must have been run close by several others, including Lepori, Dale Bloomfield and Files.

Team: Lepori; Agoro, Cookson, Ford, Bloomfield; Palfrey, Hughes; Gilchrist, Gee, Joy, Langtree, Crowley, Thompson. Subs: Files, Bradley, Ward, Boults.

Skolars: Anthony; Paxton, Hurst, Price, Adebisi; McLean, Skee; Purslow, Simons, Dollari, Clement-Pascall, Worrincy, Williams. Subs: Smith, Thomas, Robinson, Junor.

Ref: P Brooke; Att: 515.