No nomination for Scott

Date published: Friday, September 13, 2013

CHRIS Hamilton, Oldham RL Club chairman, has expressed his “disappointment” that Roughyeds coach Scott Naylor is not among the three nominees for Championship One coach of the year.

The prestigious gong, to be awarded at the Kingstone Press Championships awards night in Leeds on Thursday, September 26 — three days before the play-off final — will go to Clive Griffiths (North Wales), Joe Mbu (London Skolars) or Troy Perkins (Hemel Stags).

Votes are cast by the division’s coaches themselves.

North Wales topped the league and won the Northern Rail Bowl, but Naylor’s Oldham finished league runners-up, only two points behind the champions, but with nine points more than Mbu’s London and 13 more than Perkins’ Hemel Stags.

Said Hamilton: “You have to respect the vote, but it’s beyond me how anyone can think three coaches did a better job than Scott Naylor and his No 2, Lee Spencer.

“Scott did a remarkable job in his first year as a head coach, with limited resources and with the youngest squad in the division.

“We were in by far the tougher of the two Northern Rail groups, but we won three of our four games in that too, losing only to North Wales”.

Unbeaten since June 9, Roughyeds haven’t tasted defeat in nine games — the longest unbeaten run in all three professional divisions.

There was some solace for the club in the naming of Richard Lepori and Adam Files among five nominees for young player of the year.

Said Chris: “We are the only club with two nominees, and it was nothing more than the boys deserved. They have both had excellent seasons.”

They are up against Tyla Hepi of Gloucester, Luke Hardcastle of Gateshead and Tommy Johnson of North Wales.

The division’s player-of-the-year award will go to Andy Moulsdale or Jono Smith of North Wales of Dylan Skee of London Skolars.