Files, Joy in team of the week

Date published: Tuesday, May 28, 2013

OLDHAM hooker Adam Files and his Roughyeds’ front-row partner Phil Joy have both been named in the Premier Sports Championship One team of the week following our 54-16 win against Gateshead Thunder at Whitebank.

We also have four players in the current player-of-the-year table, namely Lewis Palfrey, Files, Dale Bloomfield and Danny Langtree.

Player of the week award goes to prop Rob Thomas of London Skolars, who scored three tries in his side’s 40-34 win against Oxford and will no doubt be out to repeat that feat when Skolars come to Whitebank this Sunday, June 2 (3pm kick off).

Skolars were trailing 18-6 at half time, but Thomas scored three tries in 18 minutes to swing the momentum in London’s favour.

Thomas charged through a number of defenders for his first two tries, then gathered a bouncing ball and bustled over to complete his rare treble.

Skolars coach Joe Mbu said: “There is still a long way for us to go, but our forwards made a big impact – especially Rob.”

Premier Sports Championship One Team of the Week

1 Wayne English (Rochdale Hornets)

2 Gareth Langley (Rochdale Hornets)

3 Mason Caton-Brown (Hemel Stags)

4 Joe Price (London Skolars)

5 Shaun Robinson (Oxford)

6 Danny Yates (Rochdale Hornets)

7 Connor Farrell (South Wales Scorpions)

8 Rob Thomas (London Skolars)

9 Adam Files (OLDHAM)

10 Phil Joy (OLDHAM)

11 Mike Ratu (Rochdale Hornets)

12 Sam Latus (Gateshead Thunder)

13 Martin Roden (Oxford)


Championship One Player of the Year award

Hemel’s Mike Bishay has stretched his lead in the Player of the Year rankings after earning two points for his performance in the Stags’ 52-24 win over South Wales Scorpions. Bishay did not make the Team of the Week, however, after Oldham hooker Adam Files produced an outstanding display, while London Skolars’ Rob Thomas took five points with his hat-trick off the bench against Oxford.

5 points – Rob Thomas

4 points – Adam Files

3 points – Mike Ratu

2 points – Mike Bishay

1 point – Gareth Langley


Championship One Player of the Year table

1. Mike Bishay (10 points)

2. Sean Morris (7 points)

3. Andy Moulsdale (6 points)

4. Jono Smith (5 points)

Lewis Palfrey (5 points)

Rob Thomas (5 points)

7. Gary Middlehurst (4 points)

Valu Bentley (4 points)

Jack Murphy (4 points)

Aaron Ollett (4 points)

Ashley Bateman (4 points)

Adam Files (4 points)

13. Stuart Reardon (3 points)

Tyla Hepi (3 points)

Mike Worrincy (3 points)

Dale Bloomfield (3 points)

Mike Ratu (3 points)

18. Jason Payne (2 points)

Steve Roper (2 points)

Craig White (2 points)

Danny Langtree (2 points)

Ryan MacDonald (2 points)

23. Benn Hardcastle (1 point)

Danny Davies (1 point)

Gareth Langley (1 point)