Championship structure confirmed for 2012

Date published: Monday, October 10, 2011

The RFL has finalised the structure of the Co-operative Championships for 2012 following the demotion of Barrow Raiders to Co-operative Championship One.
Both the Co-operative Championship and Championship One will consist of 10 teams in 2012, with York City Knights and Dewsbury Rams avoiding relegation and remaining in the Championship.
Subject to their business plan being ratified at the Championships clubs’ meeting this week Crusaders RL will be accepted into Co-operative Championship One in 2012 but will not play in the Northern Rail Cup.
The RFL’s Chief Operating Officer, Ralph Rimmer said: “We are pleased to confirm the structure of the Co-operative Championships for 2012.
“We appreciate that it has been frustrating for clubs and supporters who were waiting for confirmation of the structure but the delays were caused as the governing body endeavoured to act in the best interests of the game, and all can now start to plan for next season, with some confidence.
“Following the conclusion of the Championships review we have some extremely exciting announcements to make over the next few weeks on the future of the competitions from 2013 onwards.
“We are also very close to agreeing the new broadcast deal for the Championships and Northern Rail Cup competitions and supporters can expect an announcement on this soon.”
2012 Co-operative Championship
Featherstone Rovers
Leigh Centurions
Batley Bulldogs
Sheffield Eagles
Halifax RLFC
Hunslet Hawks
York City Knights
Dewsbury Rams
Swinton Lions
Keighley Cougars
2012 Co-operative Championship One
Workington Town
Rochdale Hornets
South Wales Scorpions
London Skolars
Gateshead Thunder
Barrow Raiders
Crusaders RL